Posted on: July 16, 2022 Posted by: admin Comments: 0

The Buddha’s son who practices the Bodhisattva Way goes on pilgrimage when leaving the temple to bring back incense not only for himself but also to share with others. That is the sublime meaning of pilgrim in the bodhisattva path.

Incense recitation ceremony at the temple

In terms of words, NIM is paying attention to remembering like Buddha, sutras; PERFORMANCE is a fragrance, symbolizing the nobility of the true nature of the Tathagata, the Tathagata’s dharma body, and the Pure Heart of Truth. TAM HUONG consists of five parts: Precepts of incense, Samsara, Tue Huong, Liberation of incense, and Liberation of Tri and Perfume. The five parts of incense are also called the five parts of the dharma body, including: Precepts dharma body, Concentration dharma body, Wisdom dharma body, Liberation of dharma body and Liberation of knowledge of dharma body. According to the ceremonial ritual, the verse ‘NEM HUONG’ is recited before chanting, meaning that the practitioner sincerely wishes to meet the Buddha, approach the Tathagata, and merge with the true nature of the Tathagata. The poem NEMHUONG chanted in Chinese is as follows:

Precepts incense, Bad incense Tue Huong,

Liberation, Liberation of Tri-Fantasy,

The light cloud transforms the Dharma Realm,

Offering money in the three directions, the Three Jewels.

The second sentence is short and has seven hours, needs to be fully understood: Freeing the afflictions of evil incense, Freeing the tri-obstacle of incense. The five parts of the Tathagata’s dharma body include: Precepts, Concentration, Wisdom, Liberation of afflictions and Liberation of knowledge and obstructions.

Contents of the verse: May the sesshin sincerely reflect on whether the five parts of mind, scent, or merit have reached purity: Have you fully maintained the precepts? Is the mind at peace? Is the mind clear? Is there anything else to worry about? Are you entangled in false beliefs or prejudices? May I fully recite the five parts of the mind incense to be able to integrate into the Tathagata’s Dharma Realm, and make offerings to the Three Jewels in the ten directions.

When offering incense and lighting five incense sticks to the Buddha representing the five parts of the Mind, a skillful practitioner visualizes that he has arrived at the temple, has entered the Tathagata’s house, is being imparted by the Buddha’s dharma body, and is like a person being bathed with soap. Dharma rain water, Buddhism is called Dharma dance. Thanks to the grace of Dharma dance, my body and mind are clean and free of dust and dirt. My body and mind are incensed as if impregnated with five gentle and elegant fragrances emanating from the Buddha’s dharma body. Practitioners feel peaceful, free and peaceful in the Dharma Realm of the Buddhas, This is the state of liberation, the meditator has left the dream to the border, This mind who cultivates the path to perfection, that person will witness. , cannot be expressed by reason, cannot be communicated by written language.

Pilgrimage (Part 2)

From the temple back home

The third and last stage of the pilgrimage From the temple back home should be carefully observed and practiced, the beginner often pays little attention to this. Those who are skillful in contemplating and reciting thoughts: After leaving the temple scene, they will never forget in their minds the Tathagata’s Dharma Realm, the Buddha’s Dharma Body as if following their own footsteps to their own home to constantly monitor the transformation of the Son who has made a vow when incense ceremony. In other words, the Son of Buddha always keeps the five fragrances that have been marinated at the temple. This incense is the Buddha’s power that propels the practitioner straight ahead on the path to liberation. Buddha power, also known as the Five Forces, includes: Faith, Mindfulness, Tinh Effort, Concentration, and Wisdom. Fully meeting these five powers, the practitioner attains the path to Buddhahood.

The second stage at the temple is the process of GOD, the third stage of returning home is the process of DAO. Realizing the Dharma without practicing is falling into the delusion of law enforcement, thinking that it is enlightenment but actually is not enlightenment, just false enlightenment is not real enlightenment. Reason: Practitioners have not yet realized Liberation of Tri-Perfume and are still entangled in tri-obstacles.

Practicing the path has two parts: Self-realization and self-liberation. From Self-realization, practitioners generate the Bodhi mind and progress to Enlightenment and forgiveness. In the case of not generating the Bodhi mind just for himself, the practitioner is easily immersed in Nirvana, only living in the world peacefully, free from all ties to the world. In the case of generating the Bodhi mind to practice the Bodhisattva Way of Living for People, the practitioner always keeps his mind pure but commits himself to entering the world full of afflictions bound to save sentient beings. Instead of being infatuated with Nirvana, the practitioner sees the source of True Bliss in helping others. The Buddha’s son who practices the Bodhisattva path goes on pilgrimage when leaving the temple to bring back incense not only for himself but also to share with others. That is the sublime meaning of pilgrim in the bodhisattva path. (to be continued)


Leave a Comment